Williams Alumni Honor President Emeritus Carl Vogt

Media contact: Noelle Lemoine, communications assistant; tele: (413) 597-4277; email: [email protected]

WILLIAMSTOWN, Mass., June 14, 2003–Williams College’s Kellogg Award, for a “truly distinguished career,” was given today to the college’s 15th president, Carl W. Vogt ’58 of Potomac, Md. The presentation was made at the 181st annual meeting of the Williams College Society of Alumni by society President Richard R. Pickard ’75 of Los Gatos, Calif.

Saying that Vogt’s career “could hardly be loftier,” he pointed out that it began with service as a Marine fighter pilot in the western Pacific. “It then took a meteoric rise,” Pickard said, “through one of the largest and most influential law firms in the country [Fulbright & Jaworski], where for 23 years he led the movers and shakers in its Washington, D.C. office.”

President George H.W. Bush named Vogt chair of the National Transportation Safety Board. President Bill Clinton appointed him to the White House Commission on Aviation Safety and Security, with the task of investigating the crash of TWA Flight 800. Vogt has also served on the board of Amtrak.

“Our honoree has had a similarly high-flying career in education,” Pickard said. Vogt represented Duke University for 25 years and served on the Executive Committee of the Board of Directors of the National Association of College and University Attorneys. He was a founding trustee of the Chinquapin School for gifted, underprivileged students in his hometown of Houston.

“While serving as a Williams trustee,” Pickard added, “he reached truly stratospheric heights by being named president of the college, in which position he earned our enormous affection and respect.”

Other Awards

Also at the meeting, held in the Chandler Athletic Center, Williams President Morton Owen Schapiro awarded the Rogerson Cup, the college’s highest award for alumni service, to Michael Z. Lazor ’53 of Cotuit, Mass. Lazor has served on the college’s Board of Trustees and on the Executive Committee of the Society of Alumni and he was president of the Hartford Regional Association. He has also served his class as Alumni Fund agent and as chair of the 50th Reunion Fund Committee.

Two other awards were presented: The Thurston Bowl, for exceptional service as class secretary, to John P. Bessone ’78 of Santa Fe, N.M., and The Copeland Award, for effectively representing Williams to prospective students, to David G. Futransky ’73 of Skokie, Ill.

Class Gifts

The classes of 1953 and 1978 announced financial gifts to the college.

Lazor announced the Class of 1953’s gift of $8.3 million–the third-highest 50th Reunion Gift ever. In addition to supporting scholarships and a Fund for Tutorials and Innovative Teaching, class members honored the memory of classmate Endy Perry with an endowed fund for general operating support, provided money to substantially improve the Ephraim Williams Monument in Lake George, N.Y., and supported a variety of student and faculty programs.

The 25th Reunion Gift of $7.8 million was announced by Class President Mario Chiapetti of Simsbury, Conn., and Reunion Fund Committee Chair Cathy Pierson Lego of Woodside, Calif. The money will create the Class of 1978 Memorial Scholarship Fund and a fund to support student life initiatives. The class gift also will support the college’s operating costs through the Alumni Fund. This is the second-largest 25th Reunion Gift in the college’s history. The biggest was $10.4 million from the Class of 1975.


Society Secretary Wendy W. Hopkins ’72 of Pownal, Vt., announced that through mailed ballots the full alumni body had elected Steven S. Rogers ’79 of Evanston, Ill., to a five-year term as one of five alumni trustees on the college’s governing board.

Rogers has taught throughout the U.S., Mexico, and Hong Kong. He is currently the Gordon and Llura Gund Family Distinguished Professor of Entrepreneurship at Northwestern University’s Kellogg School of Management, where he has won nine Professor of the Year awards. He has owned three companies and served on the boards of three Fortune 500 companies and of two venture capital firms. He has also served on the boards of the Alain Locke Charter School, the LEAD Program, and A Better Chance, as well as on the Visiting Committee of Harvard Business School, where he earned an M.B.A. In 2000 he received Williams’ Bicentennial Medal for Distinguished Achievement.

Hopkins also announced that the alumni body had elected Janet Lavin Rapelye ’81 of Wellesley, Mass., to a three-year term as an alumni administrator of the Tyng Bequest, which provides several Williams students with financial aid for both undergraduate and graduate study.

Rapelye was recently named dean of admission at Princeton University, effective July 1. She has served since 1991 as dean of admission at Wellesley College. Before that, she worked in admissions at Bowdoin College and at Williams. She earned a master’s degree in education from Stanford University.

The meeting voted in the following slate of officers for one-year terms:

president, Richard R. Pickard ’75 of Los Gatos, Calif.
vice presidents, Jill E. Stephens ’77 of London, England, and Stephen R. Birrell ’64 of Williamstown
secretary, Wendy W. Hopkins ’72 of Pownal, Vt.
assistant secretaries, Brooks A. Foehl ’88, Keli A. Kaegi, Rebecca Logue ’99, and Paula Moore Tabor ’76, all of Williamstown
treasurer, Helen Ouellette of Williamstown.

Elected to three-year terms on the society’s Executive Committee were Brian D. Carpenter ’86 of St. Louis, Mo., David K.B. Cole ’84 of Brandon, Fla., Robb S. Friedman ’93 of Washington, D.C., Thomas H. Nicholson ’68 of Weston, Mass., James F. Richardson ’59 of Rye, N.Y., and Nareeporn L. Wongse-Sanit ’89 of Sherman Oaks, Calif.